Skip to content

Part 4 of 5: Harry Dean Stanton month

June 16, 2010

This week’s installment of Harry Dean Stanton brings you an ode to his musical talent. He’s been performing around LA since the mid 80’s and this might be the best reason to go to LA i’ve ever heard. If anyone hears of a current gig, let me know!

Originally named Harry Dean Stanton and the Repo Men, the band eventually became simply The Harry Dean Stanton Band. Below are a few tidbits. enjoy!

Covering Jim Reeves classic “He’ll have to go”

 

Love potion #9 has been one of my favorites since my days of driving around in the country aimlessly with my dad about the age of 8 (my dad never acted much older either). He’d throw some tunes on the tape deck and let me pick the way at every crossroad. Untimately we’d get miserably lost every time but we always had a great time, and it instilled in me both my love of old music and driving for driving’s sake.

Love Potion #9

 

This song, just brakes my heart. I’ve heard it a million times and Harry Dean does it in style.

 

When pressed about when he might do another music gig, Stanton paused. “I can’t answer to that. I have to wait and see what happens,” he said. “Because nobody’s in charge.”

Not even him? “No,” he answered firmly. “It’s all written. It is written.” – LA Times 2009

-Corinna

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

