So you said you wanted to be a bicycle racer…

Tuesday February 8th, 9pm

Otto’s Shrunken Head

538 E. 14th street (A & B)

Breaking Away (1979)

The movie that tells you exactly what you can do with your high school diploma!

Growing up the little sister of a bicycle nut brother, I think I saw this film more times than any other movie, before the age of 10…ok, maybe the Muppets and Star Trek, but that’s from growing up the kid of a comic book writer…anyway, Breaking Away is one of my all time favorite films, and a bad ass 2 wheeled, pedal powered vehicular tail of “cutters” vs affluent college kids in a knock down drag out turf war, oh and there’s a pretty cool chick on a vespa in there somewhere too.

DaveBuon giorno, papa!
DadI’m not “papa.” I’m your god-damned father.

Directed by the late, great Peter Yates, this one’s for my brother who I’m sure watched it at least once with me on vhs from a hospital bed in NY while he was on the mend from some broken bone bicycle injury or another…And oh how things have changed. Check out his review below.

– Corinna

Cyril: Hey! Are you really gonna shave your legs?
Dave: Certo! All the Italians do it.
Mike: Ah. Some country. The women don’t shave theirs.

One of the greatest coming of age stories ever written. Join main character Dave and his friends Mike, Cyril and Moocher as they over come life’s adversities in a small town whose main attraction is a major university. Dave is desperate to become a pro rider like the members of the Cinzano team that came for a race in the area.

MomOh, Dave, try not to become Catholic on us

[Dave crosses himself on learning of Team Cinzano’s imminent arrival]

Dave is rudely shown that his cycling gods are just pompous dicks. As the four friends struggle to find their place in life it finds them in the most unlikely of venues – the annual cycling race put-on by the university’s frat houses “the little 500”.

DadWhat is this?
MomIt’s sauteed zucchini.
DadIt’s I-tey food. I don’t want no I-tey food.
MomIt’s not. I got it at the A&P. It’s like… squash.
DadI know I-tey food when I hear it! It’s all them “eenie” foods… zucchini… and linguine… and fettuccine. I want some American food, dammit! I want French fries!
Mom[to the cat, who has jumped up onto the table] Oh, get off the table, Fellini!
DadHey, that’s *my* cat! His name’s not Fellini, it’s Jake! I won’t have any “eenie” in this house!
[to the cat]

So join us for some “ini” food and some refunds refunds refunds, as we screen for you Breaking Away one of the greatest coming of age stories around and some not so bad edge of your seat cycling as well. This is one of our favorites here at Red Star Cycles and a big reason why we do what we do now. ENJOY

– Adam Pocock, Red Star Cycles

A couple of NY Cutters, circa 1982ish

2 Comments

Leave a comment